Dissenters Jitin Prasada & Raj Babbar out of key Congress panel for 2022 UP polls | India News

LUCKNOW: Former MP Jitin Prasada, and ex-UP Congress committee chief Raj Babbar were not included in four core committees announced by the party on Sunday keeping in mind the 2022 UP elections.
The two were among 23 senior Congressmen who wrote a letter last month to the party chief Sonia Gandhi, dragging her attention towards the uncertainties about the leadership. Former MP RPN Singh is also among prominent leaders from the state who couldn’t make it to these committees.
Singh is at present the AICC in charge of Orissa. Party general secretary KC Venugopal released the names of the members of manifesto committee, outreach committee, membership committee and programme implementation committee for UP on Sunday. A senior functionary, however, said that the Raj Babbar and Jitin Prasada would be given important roles in future.
Total 27 senior Congress members were included in these committees. Salman Khursheed, the former MP from Farrukhabad, ex-Barabanki MP PL Punia who is also the former ST/SC commission chairperson, Congress legislature party leader in UP assembly, Aradhana Mishra and former journalist Supriya Shrinate, who contested 2019 Lok Sabha polls from Maharajganj and is now the national spokesperson, are part of manifesto committee for the forthcoming state polls.
Former Rajya Sabha member and minister Pramod Tiwari, former Jhansi MP Pradip Jain Aditya, Saharanpur’s firebrand neta Imran Masood and Naseemuddin Sidiqui — who has defected from BSP — and two others are part of the outreach committee.
All UPCC vice-presidents are ex-officio members of this committee Four-time Allahabad MLA Anugrah Narayan Singh along with other ex MLAs Ajay Kapoor, BL Khabri, Ajay Rai and Mohamad Muqeem are part of Membership committees. Kamal Kishore Commando, who was in the security team of Rajiv Gandhi, and emerged a surprise winner from Bahraich in 2014 LS polls, was also included in this committee.
Similarly, the programme implementation committee has former Rampur MP Noor Bano, former Bareilly MP Praveen Aron, and seven others as members. Raj Babbar, who lost from Fathehpur Sikri in the 2019 LS polls downplayed his omission from these committees.
“Appropriate people have been picked for appropriate functions. I am sure they will do well. As far as I am concerned, I have left UP,” said Raj Babbar. Meanwhile, Jitin Prasada, who has also been in news for making an outreach to the Brahmin community, did not respond to TOI text or calls over the new development.

Source link

Leave a Comment