Rajya Sabha clears two farm bills, opposition moves no-trust motion against deputy chair – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Alleging “murder” of democracy, 12 opposition parties on Sunday moved a no-confidence motion against Rajya Sabha deputy chairman Harivansh in protest against the manner in which two farm bills were passed in the House.

The parties said Harivansh overruled their pleas for an adjournment of proceedings, and subsequently refused to accede to their demand for voting on the bill’s passage.

Congress, TMC, Samajwadi Party, Telangana Rashtra Samithi, CPI, CPM, Nationalist Congress Party, Rashtriya Janata Dal, National Conference, DMK and the Aam Aadmi Party were among those who moved the no-confidence motion.

Congress general secretary K C Venugopal said, “Why was BJP leader Bhupendra Yadav whispering in the ears of the deputy chairman? Today’s episode was a conspiracy hatched by the BJP leadership. BJP’s own cabinet minister resigned over the bills and RSS’s farmers’ organisation is against the bills. Now, who will believe BJP claims that the bills are good?”

CPM MP K K Ragesh alleged that the deputy chairman disallowed the opposition to move a statutory resolution, a constitutional tool available to opposition parties, to oppose a bill. “The deputy chairman’s attitude was unbecoming and undemocratic,” he said.

Congress MP Shaktisinh Gohil said additional forces were called into the House to “manhandle” members. “This is the Modi model from the same Gujarat that was once known for Mahatma Gandhi,” he said. Congress said the opposition parties would meet in Parliament on Monday to discuss future course of action.

Source link

Leave a Comment